KanCare is the program that the State of Kansas uses to administer Medicaid. Kansas has contracted with three Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) to coordinate healthcare for all of those on Medicaid. Each individual has a choice of one of the MCOs. All HCBS are a part of KanCare. The health plans are required to coordinate all care a consumer receives.

What is HCBS?

Home and Community-Based Services, or HCBS, in Kansas oversees the process of providing supports and services for people with disabilities in Kansas. Kansas HCBS Medicaid Waivers allow individuals to “self-direct” some or all of their in-home supports. Participant-Direction means that the participant or their representative has the right to hire, train, schedule, supervise and employ Personal Care Service Workers (PCSW) to work with the participant in their home and community.


  • Have active KanCare (Kansas Medicaid)
  • Be physically disabled and / or have a chronic medical condition, such as diabetes, that reduces your ability to care for yourself without assistance
  • Must be at least 18 years of age
  • Have the desire and ability to self-direct your own care and employ your own attendant

FOR MORE INFORMATION please call Kansas HCBS at 913-871-4188

Son treats wheelchair-bound father via HCBS

Payroll Services for your Attendant

TWP provides payroll services for three types of HCBS Waivers

The following are the three waivers that The Whole Person can provide Payroll Services for. For more information, including qualifications, please select each option.

Waivers can be download HERE

Provides the following services as long as they are approved in an Integrated Service Plan (ISP) from the MCO:

  1. Personal Services
  2. Assistive Services
  3. Enhanced Care Service (ECS)
  4. Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS) and Installation

Qualifications for Physical Disabilities Waiver:

  • At least 18 years old and not older than 65
  • Determined disabled by social security
  • Need assistance to perform activities of daily living.
  • Qualify for Medicaid nursing facility

Provides services to ensure that individuals can stay in their home and be independent in a safe, healthy environment.

Qualifications for the Traumatic Brain Injury Waiver are:

  • Have a traumatic brain injury
  • Be at least 18 years old and not older than 65
  • Meet criteria for TBI rehabilitation hospital placement
  • Qualifies for Medicaid

Provides the option for seniors who receive Medicaid and qualify to receive community- based services, as an alternative to nursing facility care. Provides the following services as long as they are approved in a ISP from the MCO:

  1. Personal Care
  2. Household Tasks
  3. Health Services

Qualifications for Frail Elderly Waiver are:

  • Over 65 years old
  • Qualifies for Medicaid
  • Meets Medicaid long-term care guidelines
Daughter and Father spend time in park. Daughter takes care of father as part of HCBS


Johnson County
Wyandotte County
Leavenworth County

Customize Your Care

HCBS will provide assistance based on your standards